Auctioneer License

Minnesota Statute 330.01 requires that auctioneers in the state of Minnesota be licensed. An application for an auctioneer license is made in your county of residence. Licenses are valid for one year. Select from the tabs below to see options for Scott County residents and non-residents applying for an auctioneer license. 

  1. Scott County Residents
  2. Non-Residents

Apply by mail or in person

  1. Print Auctioneer License Application (PDF) and complete it.
  2. Please mail application and other requirements to:

    Scott County Government Center
    Attn: Customer Service
    200 Fourth Avenue West
    Shakopee, MN 55379

Remember to send

  • The printed and completed application. 
  • Bond in the amount of $1000 - $3000. 
  • Proof of Workers' Compensation Insurance or Affidavit of Sole Proprietorship.


The fee is $20. You may pay with cash, check (payable to Scott County) or credit card. If you pay with a credit card, you will be paying a 2.45% convenience fee.