- County Sheriff
- Firearm Permits
- Permit to Carry
Permit to Carry
Applications for Permit to Carry are accepted in person at the Scott County Sheriff's Office, Law Enforcement Center, 301 Fuller Street South, Shakopee, Minnesota.
Monday– Friday, 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m. (closed holidays)
The Scott County Sheriff's Office processes Permit to Carry applications for all Scott County residents.
Please provide ONE of the following to demonstrate proof of residency:
- A valid Minnesota driver's license with your current address. Expired licenses are not acceptable.
- A valid temporary paper license from Driver and Vehicle Services, along with the voided driver's license
- A passport along with one of the following residency documents with your name and current address dated from the last 30 days:
- Water bill
- Gas bill
- Garbage/trash bill
- Electric bill
- Cable bill (streaming services not applicable)
- Utility hookup statement
Payment in form of cash, check, credit card, or money order:
- New application (valid for 5 years): $50
- Renewal application: $30 (renewals can be applied for up to 90 days prior to the permit's expiration date)
- Late renewal application: $40 (If you are within 30 days from when your permit expired)
- Replacement card or change of address: $10
Steps to complete a new or renewal application
- Complete the Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application - Permit to Carry a Pistol (PDF), signed and dated by the applicant. You may complete the application prior to your arrival. Print forms are also available at the Sheriff's Office for completion.
- All applications must be submitted in person.
- Provide evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol that meets the requirements of Minnesota Statute 624.714 from a certified instructor. This training must have been completed within 12 months prior to the date of application. For a list of approved certified firearms instructors, visit the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.
- Provide a current driver's license, state identification card or passport. See residence requirements for details.
- Pay the required fee as outlined above.
- Successfully pass the required background check. An applicant who is otherwise ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction, but who has obtained a federal pardon or state restoration of civil rights, must submit a copy of the relevant order.
A Permit to Carry is valid for five years throughout Minnesota and acts as a Permit to Purchase. A Permit to Carry becomes void when the holder becomes prohibited by law.
Certain states offer reciprocity for Minnesota Permit to Carry holders. For an updated list of states with Permit to Carry reciprocity, visit the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension: Permit to Carry Reciprocity website.
- Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application - Permit to Carry a Pistol (PDF)
- Minnesota BCA website for additional information on Permit to Carry
- View the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website for general permit information.
For additional information pertaining to handgun legislation, refer to the following state laws or call the office of the Minnesota Attorney General at 651-296-7575.
- Minnesota Statute Section 624.7131 - Transferee permit; penalty
- Minnesota Statute Section 624.7132 - Report of transfer
- Minnesota Statute Section 624.714 - Carrying of weapons without permit; penalties
Please contact our office with any questions regarding firearm permits at 952-496-8300.