Adult Protection

COVID-19 Updated 4/16 3:00 PM

The Scott County Government building is closed to the public at this time, until further notice.  However, we remain committed to serving our vulnerable citizens to every extent possible.

The Adult Protection unit will be conducting most business via phone and email. The Adult Protection unit remains available to respond to emergency safety situations. In addition, the state-wide reporting center remains open 24 hours a day to accept calls of suspected  maltreatment.

       Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center 

​If you suspect maltreatment of a Vulnerable Adult in Scott County, contact the toll free MN Adult Reporting Center (MAARC) hotline which is staffed 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

  • 1-844-880-1574
     is the toll-free number for the general public
  • If your situation is a medical emergency, call 9-1-1 to reach your local law enforcement agency.

Identifying who a Vulnerable Adult (VA) and what maltreatment is can be challenging for many different reasons. The following information may assist you in understanding vulnerable adult maltreatment reporting.

    About the Unit

The Adult Protective Services Unit, as an agent of the State of Minnesota Department of Human Services, is authorized to investigate the abuse, neglect and exploitation of a vulnerable adult, who resides in a community setting, and to provide protective services and community support to that person.

Protective services are those that prevent maltreatment and allow vulnerable adults to maximize their functioning and to live safely in the community. Services are often provided in collaboration with Public Health Nursing, other Social Services staff, law enforcement, hospitals and home health care agencies.


Who is a vulnerable Adult?

        A vulnerable adult can be anyone over age 18 who:

  • Has a physical, mental or emotional disorder that makes it difficult for the person to care for themselves without help and to protect themselves from maltreatment
  • Is in a hospital, nursing home, transitional care unit, assisted living, housing with services, board and care, foster care or other licensed care facility
  • Receives services such as home care, day services, personal care assistance or other licensed services.


How is maltreatment defined?

        Maltreatment includes:

  • Abuse, including physical, emotional and sexual abuse, use of restraints, involuntary seclusion or punishment
  • Neglect, including failure to provide necessary food, shelter, clothing, health care or supervision because of neglect by a caregiver or because the vulnerable adult cannot meet their own needs
  • Financial exploitation, including theft or withholding of money or property and/or use of money or property not for the vulnerable adult's benefit.